Turning Clothes into Cash

The other night I was scrollIing through Instagram and along came one of my favourite stores West & Co. They are a consignment store that I’ve been shopping at and consigning my clothes with for the last 10 years in Cumberland, BC.

My first memory is of going to visit the store was with my neighbour and our children. They played in the child play area while we shopped. They had that great game called Perfection where you put the pieces in the shapes and if you don’t do it in time, it jumps at you. I remember this game from being a kid and the memories all came back while we laughed and played this game.

I’ve enjoyed watching this store expand and change over the years. It is always on my list of places to shop when I visit Cumberland.

Another time I visited the store was for the Great Valley Rally when it was otherwise known as Polka Dot Pants. It was my first Instagram post!

Back to my point. West & Co posts photos of really great outfits on their social media on a regular basis. I find this great inspiration for putting a look together. I didn’t know when I was going to be in Cumberland again and didn’t want to take a chance on missing out on this lovely item, so I decided to try their online shopping system and it worked a treat.

A week later I went to Cumberland to pick up my purchase and decided to clear out my closet before I went to take items in for consignment.

Picking up my order was an easy process. I parked right outside the front of the store on Dunsmuir Ave. I asked about whether I could apply any consigning credits that I may have to my online shopping in the future and she walked me through how to set that up. I also found out that I had a credit of $15.

The best part of my purchase. I opened the bag to find a handwritten note thanking me for my business. This is the personal touch that really goes a long way and really stands out.

West & Co is on Dunsmuir Ave in Cumberland, BC. You can visit their website to shop online and find out their guidelines for consigning.

The CV Local is dedicated to showcasing all the great things that the Comox Valley has to offer.  Follow us on Instagramfacebook, and sign up to receive blog posts from our website

Leave a comment